Tatiana Maslany Joins HBO’s ‘Perry Mason’ Limited Series

Perry Mason is a character I don’t have much association with, but HBO continues to heighten my interest in their upcoming limited series which re-imagines the classic  role.

First there was the casting of Matthew Rhys in the titular role, now Tatiana Maslany has joined the project. Set during 1930’s Los Angeles, Perry Mason dives into the origins of the famous criminal defense lawyer.

Tatiana Maslany will play Sister Alice described as, “a rare sight – the leader of the Radiant Assembly of God, preaching three sermons a day (21 a week!) to a hungry congregation and a radio audience that spans the country. Entertainer, politician, God’s conduit to the City of Angels, Sister Alice wields great power when she speaks, and plans to use it in ways only she can know.”

Rhys and Maslany are two of my favorite actors in recent memory. Matthew Rhys starred on The Americans, one of my favorite shows ever and Tatiana Maslany was sensational with the multitude of roles she embodied on Orphan Black. The casting of these two has me interested in Perry Mason, a series I would normally overlook.

Credit: Deadline

Leave a comment